There are no contests open at this time, but please check back again soon.


New Delta Review Matt Clark Contests in Fiction, Poetry, & NDR Creative Nonfiction Contest: 



New Delta Review is now accepting submissions for the 2013 Matt Clark Fiction and Poetry Contests and the 2013 Creative Nonfiction Contest. Matt Clark, beloved teacher, coordinator of creative writing at Louisiana State University, and a fine short story writer at the start of his career, died of colon cancer at the age of 31. Fascinated by tall tales and urban legends, Matt was in the process of inventing a new kind of Southwest magical realism, part Mark Twain, part Gabriel Garcia Marquez. In his honor, NDR sponsors the Matt Clark Prize in fiction and poetry.

The Matt Clark contests seek previously unpublished works of fiction and poetry that compellingly challenge expectations, narratively or otherwise, and are conscious about the way they use form. The Creative Nonfiction Contest welcomes essays that engage readers, that prove that reality can be just as bizarre, beautiful, and revealing, or even more so, than the very best fiction.


Fiction Judge: Benjamin Percy

Benjamin Percy is the author of two novels, Red Moon (Grand Central/Hachette 2013) and The Wilding, as well as two books of short stories, Refresh, Refresh and The Language of Elk. His fiction and nonfiction have been published in Esquire (where he is a contributing editor), GQ, Time, Men’s Journal, Outside, the Wall Street Journal, Tin House and the Paris Review. His honors include an NEA fellowship, the Whiting Writer’s Award, the Plimpton Prize, two Pushcart Prizes and inclusion in Best American Short Stories and Best American Comics. He is the writer-in-residence at St. Olaf College and teaches at the low-residency MFA program at Pacific University.


Poetry Judge: Jenny Boully

Jenny Boully is the author of four books, most recently not merely because of the unknown that was stalking toward them (Tarpaulin Sky Press). Her other books include The Books of Beginnings and Endings (Sarabande Books), [one love affair]* (Tarpaulin Sky Press), and The Body: An Essay (Essay Press, first published by Slope Editions). Her chapbook of prose, Moveable Types, was released by Noemi Press. Her work has been anthologized in The Best American Poetry, The Next American Essay, Great American Prose Poems: From Poe to the Present, and other places. Born in Thailand, she was reared in Texas by parents who farm and fish. She earned an MFA at Notre Dame with a poetry concentration, and a Ph.D. in English from the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. She lives in Chicago with her husband and daughter and teaches at Columbia College Chicago.


Nonfiction Judge: Rebecca Godfrey

Rebecca Godfrey is an award-winning novelist and journalist. Born in Toronto, she attended the University of Toronto and Sarah Lawrence College. Her first novel, The Torn Skirt was praised by The New York Times as a “stark, captivating noir” and shortlisted for The Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. Under The Bridge, a work of literary reportage, was a national bestseller and received numerous awards. Godfrey’s work has been reviewed and featured in GQ, Rolling Stone, O, Elle, The New York Times and Dateline. She has worked with Noon, The Santa Maddalena Foundation, and was an editor for Knopf. She is the recipient of fellowships from Yaddo and The Canada Council. She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and daughter.


Prizes: The Matt Clark winners in Fiction and Poetry will receive $250 and publication in NDR. The winner in NDR Creative Nonfiction will receive $150 and publication in NDR.

Deadline:  March 31, 2013. All submissions must be submitted online through our online submissions manager and require a $10 entry fee. Each manuscript entered should consist of no more than thirty pages of fiction or no more than five poems (up to 10 pages total of poetry).  You may enter more than one manuscript and/or more than one genre contest as long as you include a $10 reading fee with each contest submission.


Family, friends, and previous students of the judges, or those with reciprocal professional relationships with the judges, will be disqualified from the contest. Submissions will be first read by the staff of New Delta Review, and finalists will be passed on for judging.


2012 Matt Clark Winners and Judges

Fiction Winner: Lydia Ship “Black Dog Nothing”
Judged by: Chris Chambers

Poetry Winner: Mg Roberts “Swollen parts: known as succulence”
Judged by: Bhanu Kapil

Nonfiction Winner: E.E.W Christman “Me and His Old Lady”
Judged by: Mark Richard




NDR Annual Chapbook Contest 


New Delta Review is thrilled to announce our second annual chapbook competition, judged by the renowned novelist, poet, and short story writer Jim Krusoe. NDR is looking for brilliant, inventive, moving and mind-bending manuscripts of unpublished poetry, fiction, or hybrid work. The winner will receive a $100 prize and 20 complimentary copies of the chapbook, to be published in the spring of 2013.

Deadline for entry is January 1, 2013. All submissions require a $15 entry fee and must be entered to NDR through Submittable:

Manuscripts should be 20-40  pages in length and should include a title page with contact information. Multiple submissions require separate entry fees, and simultaneous submissions are welcome on the condition that writers notify NDR of another acceptance as soon as possible.

About the Judge:

Jim Krusoe is the author of Blood Lake and Other Stories, Iceland (selected by the Los Angeles Times and the Austin Chronicle as one of the ten best fiction books of 2002, and was on the Washington Post list of notable fiction for the same year), Girl Factory, Erased, Toward You and Parsifal. He is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Lila Wallace Reader’s Digest fund. He founded the Santa Monica Review, and currently teaches creative writing at Antioch University and Santa Monica College.


2012-13 NDR Chapbook Contest
Judged by:
Jim Krusoe
Jennifer A. Howard: How to End Up

2011-12 NDR Chapbook Contest
Judged by: Catherine Wagner.
Winner: Brett Defries: The light at the end of the tunnel is an-other train headed our direction